I_Really_Don't_Hate_Christmas

What to do with a Christmas hater?

I love Christmas!! But not because of the presents, or the Christmas music. For me it is all about the tree. I love to decorate the tree and then read on the couch next to it. I love to just look at the beautiful sparkle decorations and shimmering light. It is truly something special, perhaps because it reminds me of the time I still believed in Santa and I used to wait for him to bring presents. Or because I still remember how homey it felt with the tree in the living room and my Mom in the kitchen making chocolate cookies as I was cuddled up under a blanket and watched cartoons.

Since I met David, however, every year I get more frustrated and end up in tears fighting with him. He hates Christmas. I mean, he REALLY hates Christmas. He hates the Christmas season so much that he is willing to ruin it for me. I don’t know what happened to him that he is so staunchly against it but he will go out of his way to make Christmas lame for everyone.

First we argue whether or not we should have the tree, then whether we should buy new ornaments for it or not. Then he won’t help me set up the tree (which is half the fun) and then he hates on the lights. When the time comes to go Christmas shopping to buy stuff for everyone, he makes the shopping miserable. Or if I go by myself, he complains about spending money on “stupid gifts.”

It’s hard, it really is hard to deal with it every year because it makes me want to not do it anymore. The arguing is just not worth it. I get it that Christmas should be about spending time with the family, but who ever died because a tree was set up and some gifts were bought?

Do you have somebody in your family that kills the mood each year? Please comment, I can’t be the only one with a Christmas hater in my house?

Picture Credit

Leave a Reply

